To receive the WHO certification of malaria elimination, nations must prove that local transmission of all human malaria parasites has been interrupted, resulting in zero incidences of indigenous cases for at least the past three consecutive years (from WHO). The Global Technical Strategy for malaria 2016-2030 (GTS) set the goal of having 10 countries eliminate malaria by 2020. According to a 2016 estimate by the WHO, 21 countries currently have the possibility of eliminating malaria. These nations were coined the eliminating countries for 2020 (E-2020).

For the Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS), countries set malaria elimination milestones as below:

By 2020:

  • Cambodia: eliminate Pf
  • China: eliminate malaria
  • Lao PDR: eliminate in six provinces (in the north)
  • Thailand: eliminate malaria in 80% of districts
  • Vietnam: eliminate malaria in 40 of 63 provinces
  • Myanmar: enter malaria phase

By 2024: Thailand: eliminate malaria

By 2025: Cambodia: eliminate malaria

By 2030: Lao PDR, Myanmar and Vietnam: eliminate malaria